Candid Street Portraits

Having spent an afternoon collaring Joe Public for posed portraits, I decided it was time to return to the streets with a different approach to portraiture. There is a long and respected tradition of capturing people going about their day completely unaware they are being recorded. In fact, if you want to get to the heart of people’s lives and personality, recording the homo-sapien in the wild is a must.

There are many interesting photographers in this field who I have researched for inspiration but I might as well leave that stuff for the project write-up. My approach was pretty conventional in that I was going to snap any any people which I found interesting and hope that a few witty compositions presented themselves along the way.

So, with my wife in tow, I found a Costa with outside seating and attached a long lens to my DSLR which allowed me to get amongst the action while still sipping my grande mocha. Perfect. Now all I needed were some interesting unwitting subjects…in hats.

No Laughing Matter

No Laughing Matter

…It being a match day, the influx of interesting characters did not take too long to materialise.

"I Don't Know, I'm Not Einstein!"

“I Don’t Know, I’m Not Einstein!”

Double Take

Double Take

Stirring Coffee

Stirring Coffee

Beardy

Beardy

Walking The Bike

Walking The Bike

After a good while sitting outside the coffee shop, I decided to explore further afield and see what other areas of the city had to offer. As it happens, we didnt need to go far before interesting compositions and characters presented themselves. Being on foot, it was now also much easier to spend a few seconds framing a scene rather than simply snapping a passer-by.

Middle-Class Guilt

Middle-Class Guilt

Raiders

Raiders

Ojay

Ojay

Prime Suspect

Prime Suspect

Sign Right Here

Sign Right Here

Newspaper In Pocket

Newspaper In Pocket

The Happy Couple

The Happy Couple

Thanks

MrD

2 thoughts on “Candid Street Portraits

Leave a Reply

